Monthly Goals .001 – August

For the last 10ish days I’ve been leaving working feeling like all of my brain power is gone. I’m delighted to get to be involved in some new tasks and exciting changes, but, by the end of the day, I feel like I’ve run a mental marathon. With that, my energy to do anything more than keep myself and the mini human alive and fed is just nonexistent. BUT, I want to get out of that funk.

All day today I’ve seen reminders that it’s August 1st. I saw someone post about “rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” on social media and I had to look it up. Apparently, it’s good luck to say “rabbit, rabbit, rabbit” as your very first words right when you wake up on the first of any month. Needless to say, I missed the memo there, but felt inspired none-the-less to utilize the date and set a few goals for myself, that don’t involve work, for the month of August. Since August is the 8th month, I’m going to set 8 simple(ish) goals for myself (full disclosure — this is a completely random decision that I just came up with). Here goes:

#1: Run 3.1 miles without stopping

Those who know me, know that this is a legitimate goal. I am NOT a runner.

#2: Sign up for a 5k taking place this year

Preferably one with free alcohol at the finish line.

#3: Continue going to the gym 3 times a week

#4: Try one new recipe for dinner per week (5 before September 1st)

Any recommendations for super easy recipes that a 3 year old and her mom will like?

#5: Plan & book a vacation

#6: Write & publish blog posts 2x per week

#7: Try a new restaurant

#7.5: Learn once and for all where the “u” goes in restaurant without having to spell check it

#8: Report back about this on September 1st with new goals

I’d love to have you join me! If eight is too many, set five or even just one goal to focus on for August. What are you going to do for yourself this month?

Leave a comment