Mom confession: #001

I had grand plans for a blog post tonight, I was given a great idea that I felt inspired by. I thought about it for the afternoon & while I went on my run at the gym. And then life happened, you know what I mean?

Here’s how the evening transpired:

6:05 pm: Get home, unload car, attempt to walk up stairs

6:07 pm: Drop phone while walking up stairs, said phone lands exactly on top of my middle toes, cue the slur of profanities here (my child was not home)

6:10 pm: Recover from toe incident, start to prep dinner

6:11 pm: Realize the steak I’d planned for the fajitas was not good & couldn’t be used

6:12 pm: Seriously consider going to In-N-Out and gaining back the pound I’d been so excited about losing when I got on the scale this morning

6:13 pm: Remember that there’s chicken in the freezer, there’s hope for the fajitas yet!

6:14-6:20: Defrost chicken, chop veggies, make marinade, and add all to a bag and seal

6:21 pm: Realize the bag isn’t fully sealed when onions & marinade land all over me and my floor

6:22 pm: Take a few deep breaths, pull myself together, persist. These damn fajitas will be made.

6:23 pm – 7:20 pm: Cook, cook, cook. Daughter gets home, daughter has to go to the bathroom, Moana goes on, switch the laundry, daughter needs a cookie, daughter needs a tortilla, daughter needs fresh water, daughter needs Moana to start over because it didn’t start on the right part. Daughter tells me, “That dinner looks scusting!” (translation: disgusting).

7:21 pm: Eat fajitas (which were absolutely DELICIOUS by the way… thank you Pinterest for the recipe)

7:21 & 30 seconds: Daughter decides scusting dinner actually looks pretty good and dips her tortilla in the food on my plate

7:25-7:45 pm: Moana, Moana, Moana, more Moana

7:46 pm: Daughter tells me she’s “so frustrated!” because I’ve turned Moana off

7:47 – 8:05 pm: Bedtime routine: jammies, brush teeth, read stories, turn off lights, snuggle. Lastly: big hug, little hug, big kiss, little kiss, little tiny kiss x 3

8:06 pm: Sit down on couch with a big sigh, tell myself I’ll only sit there until 8:15 pm (I don’t, I stay there 12 extra minutes)

8:27 – 8:45 pm: Prep coffee, prep lunches, load dishwasher, close the window I’m afraid a murderer/robber will crawl through, stub THE SAME toe, curse silently, go downstairs

8:46 – 9:00 pm: Fold & put away all laundry

9:01 pm: Pick up computer, start here.

Are you still with me? I’m impressed. Are you tired just from reading this? Me, too. Did your night look anything like this? No? Just me? Okay.

So I gave you the play by play of my evening… you’ve come all this way… what’s my confession?

I listened to Moana’s “Where You Are” and danced around my kitchen the entire 20 minutes I spent getting everything prepped and/or cleaned. Yes, my daughter was asleep. I’ve also listened to it 8 times writing this post. You guys, I can not stop singing this song. It’s so damn catchy. Oh, and I haven’t washed my hair since Monday night, oops.

But seriously, it’s Thursday night. We’re ALMOST there. Friday is so close I can taste it. I hope you have an amazing night, day, and weekend.

Leave a comment