If not now, when?

I hadn’t even been allowed to legally buy alcohol for a full year when I found out I was pregnant. To say that my daughter was a surprise would be an understatement. I was young. I was terrified. I was growing a human.

One of the first people I told was my boss. I cried as I said the words out loud and there were a million thoughts running through my head — could I do this? What would people think? Wasn’t I supposed to have a husband first? What was my family going to say?

More than three years later I still remember the fear, the uncertainty, the anxiety, but more than anything else, I remember the advice she gave me.

“Kelly, there’s no such thing as the perfect time for something. There will always be a reason to wait another month, another year. And eventually, it’ll be too late. Or you’ll find yourself looking back and wishing you’d just done it already.”

For the first time I felt happiness about this upcoming life change. And I realized that no matter how hard you try to plan, life is going to happen the way it’s meant to happen.

So, what are you waiting on? Why? Thinking about starting that running program? Do it! Trying to figure out if you want to go back to school? Apply!

In the words of Ferris Bueller, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

If not now, when?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

